Ensemble 360

Ensemble 360

Cast Second Space (unallocated)

Sat 05 November


VAUGHAN-WILLIAMS The Lark Ascending (15’)
VAUGHAN-WILLIAMS Oboe Concerto (18’)
RAVEL Sonatine (10’)
VAUGHAN-WILLIAMS Piano Quintet in C minor (30’)
An evening with the world-class musicians from Ensemble 360 celebrating the 150th birthday of the beloved composer Ralph Vaughan-Williams, who can perhaps claim to have created the sound of English music more than any other. The concert opens with possibly his most famous piece, The Lark Ascending, arranged for piano and violin – the work was recently voted No.1 in the Classic FM Hall of Fame for a record 12th time! This is followed by his concerto for oboe and strings, the compact Sonatine by Vaughan-Williams’s friend and mentor Maurice Ravel, and concludes with his expansive piano quintet.

Become a Member

You can become part of the Cast story by donating as a member. Cast is a charity and relies on funding from multiple sources including through membership. Becoming a member is a great way to be closer to our work, whilst supporting the theatre throughout the year.